Site Index

Home Page
Join CJA

Code of Ethics

The Journal

CJA Awards Index

Annual CJA Meetings

2008 Cover Sheet
   Word format
   RTF format
   HTML format


2008 Chess Journalists of America
Journalism Awards

Jerry Hanken, president of the Chess Journalists of America, and Jonathan Hilton, Chairman of the CJA Awards Committee, announce their annual call for entries to the 2008 Awards program. Winners will be recognized in Chess Life and The Chess Journalist and will also receive a certificate from the CJA.

Print Entries: Mail one original and four photocopies, or five originals, for each entry. (Note exceptions.) Print entries may be from any publication in the U.S. or its territories.

Internet Entries: Mail relevant URL(s) with entry fee and five cover sheets to the chief judge and email URL(s) to By entering you are giving the CJA permission to display your entry on the CJA website.

Eligibility: Entries must be for work published between 6/1/07 and 5/31/08. Articles may be submitted to multiple categories. (Note exceptions.)

Fees: All entries, except category 25, require an entry fee of $15 for the first entry (includes 1 year of membership in the CJA) and $8 for each additional entry. Life members free first entry, $8 for each additional entry.

Cover Sheets: One cover sheet must be stapled to each copy of print entries (originals and copies). Sheets are available at

Entry Deadline: Entries should be mailed by 6/1/08. (Extended ... see following announcement)

In order to accommodate articles published in the June 2008 issue of The Chess Journalist, CJA Awards Committee Chairman Jonathan Hilton and CJA President Jerry Hanken have extended the absolute postmark deadline for the 2008 CJA Awards to June 15, 2008. Entries received later than June 7 will be sent to judges later than other entries, so it is still advisable to submit entries before the original deadline. The Committee Chair intends to mail judges their first packages of submitted entries June 9, to ensure judges have a full six weeks to report their scores.
-- Awards Committee Chairman Jonathan Hilton, 5/31/2008

Address: Mail entries to Chief Judge Jonathan Hilton, 2590 Jupiter Dr, Fairfield, OH 45014.

Make checks payable to Chess Journalists of America.

Judges: Volunteer judges needed. CJA members or others interested in chess journalism should contact Jonathan Hilton for information.

Duplicate Entries: Many editors submit nominations, so entrants may wish to check with their editors before self-nominating.

Send entries to the Chief Judge, with checks payable to Chess Journalists of America:

Jonathan Hilton
2590 Jupiter Dr
Fairfield, OH 45014

The coversheet can be downloaded by clicking one of the following links. For those unable to download there is a web page version provided.

To view Entries Received click here.

Category 1
Chess Journalist of the Year
Awarded to the person who has contributed the most to chess journalism in the past year. Only work from the past year will be considered. CJA members vote by mail ballot to select the winner; please provide résumé for CJA website.
Category 2
Best Chess Column
Send three columns, four hard copies of each column.
Category 3
Best State Magazine
Send four original sets of one year's worth of issues. States with two publications must submit them separately. Official state publications only.
Category 4
Most Notable Achievement in Correspondence Chess
For journalistic work of any type regarding correspondence chess.
Category 5
Best Magazine Layout
Send four issues demonstrating the publication's use of presentational techniques. Each issue treated as a whole.
Category 6
Best Chess Art
Send a magazine cover, Internet display, cartoon, etc.
Category 7
Best Photograph
A single photograph portraying some aspect of chess.


Category 8
Best Tournament Report
A story of one tournament occurring in the past year.
Category 9
Best Regular Newspaper Column
Send three columns, four hard copies of each. Includes syndicated columns.
Category 10
Best Regular Newspaper Column of Local Interest
Send three columns, four hard copies of each. Limited to local, metropolitan, or regional columns.
Category 11
Best State Website
Send URL. For sites promoting chess in one state.
Category 12
Best General Website
Send URL. For all chess sites.
Category 13
Best Blog
Open to online chess blogs. Send URLs of three best blog entries. Blogs judged on visual appeal, content, and ability to draw constructive comments from readers.
Category 14
Best Historical Article
For articles describing an aspect of chess history, especially those tying chess history to social or cultural events from the past.
Category 15
Best Interview
Shows skill in eliciting instructive, revealing responses.
Category 16
Best Editorial
Clear stand on a chess issue.
Category 17
Best Review
For reviews of books, software, etc.
Category 18
Best Analysis
For openings, middlegames, endgames, games, or groups of games analyzed deeply.
Category 19
Best Instructive Lesson
For written lessons. (Should be a lesson, not just an annotated game.)
Category 20
Best Humorous Contribution
Open to chess jokes, satire, irony, parody, etc. Judges decide appropriateness.
Category 21
Special Recognition Award
For entries that do not fit comfortably into any other category.
Category 22
Excellence in Chess Writing, Mainstream Media
Send four hard copies. Entries ineligible for other categories. Awarded to chess writing in a mainstream publication (defined as a magazine listed in the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature). Regular chess features ineligible.

This Page Last Updated on 12 June 2008

Contact Webmaster